Book Scoop January 12- January 19, 2018

January 19, 2018
InToriLex, Book Scoop, Weekly Feature
 Book Industry News,  Links & Book Releases

HEADLINES

Elena Ferrante to become Guardian's Weekend Columnist

Margaret Atwood Faces Backlash for #MeToo Response 

Catch 22 Comes to Hulu 

Fire and Fury to Be Adapted to TV
LINKS

Tips on How to Get Out of A Reading Slump

Dr. Martin Luther Kings Fight for Economic Freedom Illustrated

American Prisons Afraid of The New Jim Crow 

Best Reviewed Books of the Week  

BOOK RELEASES

 Red Clocks by Leni Zumas
Red Clocks, Lenia Zumas, Book Scoop, InToriLex
Red Clocks
~Amazon~
Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling homeopath, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.
Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Love Hate & Other Filters, Samira Ahmed, InToriLex, Book Scoop
Love, Hate & Other Filters
~Amazon~
A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.
When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & Asha Bandele
When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir, Patrisse Khan-Cullors, Asha Bandele, Book Scoop, InToriLex

~Amazon~
The emotional and powerful story of one of the co-founders of Black Lives Matter and how the movement was born.

From one of the co-founders of the Black Lives Matter movement comes a poetic memoir and reflection on humanity. Necessary and timely, Patrisse Cullors' story asks us to remember that protest in the interest of the most vulnerable comes from love. Leaders of the Black Lives Matter movement have been called terrorists, a threat to America. But in truth, they are loving women whose life experiences have led them to seek justice for those victimized by the powerful. In this meaningful, empowering account of survival, strength, and resilience, Patrisse Cullors and asha bandele seek to change the culture that declares innocent black life expendable.
Iron Gold (Red Rising Saga #4) by Pierce Brown
Iron Gold, Red Rising Saga #4, Pierce Brown, InTorilex, Book Scoop
Iron Gold (Red Rising, #4)
They call him father, liberator, warlord, Reaper. But he feels a boy as he falls toward the pale blue planet, his armor red, his army vast, his heart heavy. It is the tenth year of war and the thirty-second of his life.

A decade ago, Darrow was the hero of the revolution he believed would break the chains of the Society. But the Rising has shattered everything: Instead of peace and freedom, it has brought endless war. Now he must risk everything he has fought for on one last desperate mission. Darrow still believes he can save everyone, but can he save himself?

And throughout the worlds, other destinies entwine with Darrow’s to change his fate forever:

A young Red girl flees tragedy in her refugee camp and achieves for herself a new life she could never have imagined.

An ex-soldier broken by grief is forced to steal the most valuable thing in the galaxy—or pay with his life.

And Lysander au Lune, the heir in exile to the sovereign, wanders the stars with his mentor, Cassius, haunted by the loss of the world that Darrow transformed, and dreaming of what will rise from its ashes.

Red Rising was the story of the end of one universe, and Iron Gold is the story of the creation of a new one. Witness the beginning of a stunning new saga of tragedy and triumph from masterly New York Times bestselling author Pierce Brown.
Did I miss anything in the book world? Let me know in the comments below

No comments:

Copyright © 2015 In Tori Lex All Rights Reserved · All Logos & Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners | Design by These Paper Hearts
Back to Top